The "File" menu lists commands that relate to your entire database. You can create, open, merge and close a database. While working on a database, you can save your editing changes, return to the last saved version or exit the application.
This page contains the following topics:
There are now three ways of creating a new file:
This command is used to open an existing database and make it active. When this command is selected the Open Document dialog will be shown with a default mask of (*.xp). Browse to the location of the file, and double-click to select and open.
Choose this option to append an existing XP database to the existing currently opened database. Nodes and Links, Global Databases and Job Control data can be imported from the merged XP file.
After selecting this option, the software will prompt users for the name of the XP file to be imported. Any number of databases may be merged, subject to the node and link limitations of the application.
Choose this option if you are finished with this database and want to open another existing file or create a new one. If no changes have been made to the current file, it will be closed immediately, otherwise a "Save Changes?" prompt will appear, allowing you the option of closing without saving changes, or cancelling the "Close" operation. Unless merging files the active database must be closed before opening another one.
When the database is closed the temporary work file is copied to the original database. Until close is selected you may revert to your original unchanged database by selecting the "Revert" command from this menu.
A file may also be closed by clicking on the (x) "close box" on the right end menu bar.
XP maintains an internal working copy of the database for editing sessions. Changes made while editing are not committed to the permanent database unless explicitly instructed by using the Save command. The Save command commits all changes made to the working database to the permanent database whose file name is the window title. The current view is also saved, so that when re-opened, the display will be in the same state as when the database was saved.
Copies of the working database (see Save command) can be saved under different names by issuing this command. A dialog box prompts for the new database name; the copy is then made and the new name becomes the current database.
The Save As and Save commands give you flexible control over the timing and permanence of data changes.
Starting version 2017.2, when performing Save or Save As, the program generates a .json file as part of the output. This file is saved in the same location as the .xp file. Without the .json file, you can open the .xp file but it would not contain the rainfall data.
The easiest way to create a new job is from a Template. Select this command to save the current XP file as a Template. The new Template contain all of the parameter used by XP including settings such as, fonts, XP Table Settings, Spatial Report and Graphical Encoding settings, Job Control parameters, rainfall data...
When selected, this command will prompt for an XPT file name.
See Also New File From Template.
By choosing "Revert" the working database will revert to the last "Saved" version. There is an additional dialog asking confirmation of this action to ensure there is no unintentional change.
The Import/Export menu command allows users to convert data from other databases and file formats into XPSWMM. Further details about this command and the supported file formats can be viewed in the Import/Export Data section.
The Transmit Model option allows you to save the network data, templates, rainfall data, results, GIS data, CAD data, images, and surface data into an archived (*.zip) file.
|Click Select All to include all files.|
The File Properties and Options dialog contains information regarding the number of links, nodes, background images and text strings plus the maximum number allowed in your current configuration. Use the expandable/collaspible tree in the left panel to navigate to the desired dialog.
The first panel displays statistics about the current model. The maximum number of nodes is controlled by license. The maximum number of images and text strings can be modified through the Application Settings menu command or by directly editing the SWMXP.INI file.
The default display and naming parameters for new nodes are specified in the Node Drawing dialog. New nodes are named with the prefix and a number starting with the counter value. The counter value is automatically updated as new nodes are added to the model.
The default (template) values for selected node fields are specified in the Node Data dialog.
The default display and naming parameters for new links are specified in the Link Drawing dialog. New links are named with the prefix and a number starting with the counter value. The counter value is automatically updated as new nodes are added to the model.
The default (template) values for selected link fields are specified in the Link Data dialog.
The Text Drawing dialog shows the display and labelling parameters for text on the model.
The Print command prints the current view of the network on an installed local or network printer, while Print Setup will launch a dialog that lets users select the printer where the model will be outputted.
Selecting Print Preview will display a view of how the network will appear when printed.
The Page Setup menu command opens a dialog that lets users define the layout and other parameters for printing the network.
Clicking the Format button opens the Header/Footer dialog.
Use this command to record an AVI file. This command captures the activity on the main network window, and can be used to record the the model analysis process.
Once the filename and location are selected, users can choose the codec and compression settings the software will use to record the video. Choosing lower or uncompressed settings will output higher quality videos with larger file sizes.
This command allows you to open one of your recently open files. The number of files in the list is controlled by the MRU_COUNT variable in the SWMXP.INI file or from the Application Settings under the tools menu.
The "Clean Up" command removes the temporary files used for plotting, graphical review of results, the analysis engine, etc. The files removed when this option is selected are those with the extensions BAK, CDM, CON, DAT, DBF, DEF, DES, DXF, EPD, EXP, GEN, HOT, INT, MOD, NOD, OUT, PBS, PBT, PLT, RDF, RES, RIZ, RPT, SCR, SRP, SRV, SYF, SYQ, SYR, SYT, XLS, XPX.
To prevent the unintentional deletion of files there is an additional dialog providing the option to confirm the removal of each individual files. XPSWMM provides a count of the nmber of files that were deleted.
The "Exit" menu option ends the current session and returns to the operating system. XPSWMM will give you the option to save any opened database whose changes have not been saved, or to cancel the "Exit" command and remain in the XP environment.
Note that changes to the database are not restricted to just data. Any change in scale, location or highlighting of an object will also cause the "Save Changes?" dialog to be invoked.