The Exit menu option ends the current session and returns to the operating system. XP will give you the option to save any opened database whose changes have not been saved, or to cancel the Exit command and remain in the XP environment.

Note that changes to the database are not restricted to just data. Any change in scale, location or highlighting of an object will also cause the "Save Changes?" dialog to be invoked.