Choose this option if you are finished with this database and want to open another existing file or create a new one. If no changes have been made to the current file, it will be closed immediately, otherwise a "Save Changes?" prompt will appear, allowing you the option of closing without saving changes, or cancelling the "Close" operation. Unless merging files, the active database must be closed before opening another one.

When the database is closed, the temporary work file is copied to the original database. Until Close is selected you may, revert to your original unchanged database by selecting the "Revert" command from this menu.

A file may also be closed by clicking on the small rectangular "close box" in the left hand corner of the title bar.